Print

Religious Faiths

Traditional Chinese Beliefs

Well before Hong Kong became a city port, early settlers had built four temples on Hong Kong Island : the Tin Hau Temples in Stanley and Causeway Bay, Hung Shing Temple on Ap Lei Chau and Man Mo Temple in Sheung Wan. Two out of these four ancient temples are located in the Southern District.

The earliest residents of Hong Kong Island have their roots in Mainland China. These people brought traditional Chinese beliefs to their new island home. Earth God shrine is one example. These altars are commonly found across the territory. The Earth God shrine at the top of Pokfulam Village, for instance, is as antiquated as those found in New Territories walled villages. The Southern District has always been a fishing community. Leading a tough and hazardous life at sea with no assurance for good catch, fishermen find their anchor of hope in traditional deities. They worship them religiously to pray for safe voyages, good fortune and a better life. There are many temples in the Southern District and all of them enjoy great attendance, particularly on non sailing days. On the birthdays of gods and goddesses, the temples are packed with pilgrims carrying wine, cattle sacrifices, joss sticks and fruit for their annual thanksgiving.
Introduction of Western Faiths

Western religious faiths were introduced into Hong Kong in her very early years. It was in that period that Catholic churches first appeared in the Southern District. Fr. Feliciano acquired several civilian buildings in Stanley and converted them into a small church in 1845. It served the military officers stationed at Stanley Barracks and the growing community of Chinese Catholics. Later in 1850, Fr. Fenouil built St. Joseph's Chapel in Aberdeen to serve villagers from nearby Wong Chuk Hang and Shek Pai Wan.

In the early 20th century, the Baptist Convention initiated missionary work in Aberdeen and Ap Lei Chau. Soon the Hong Kong Harbour Mission's evangelical boat was launched. It offered literacy classes and organised worship activities for fishing families. Since then the Southern District has enjoyed religious diversity. Whilst the majority of fishermen are followers of traditional Chinese faiths, dedicated missionary work over the years has led to a growing number of Catholics and Christians.

列印

宗教信仰

中國傳統信仰

開埠之前,港島已有四間廟宇:赤柱和銅鑼灣的天后廟、鴨脷洲的洪聖廟和上環的文武廟;南區已佔其二。

港島居民大多來自中國大陸,帶來了中國傳統的民間信仰,例如社壇,各區都可見到。薄扶林村近村口的一座社壇,形貌古樸,可與新界圍村所見媲美。南區在歷史上以漁業為主,漁民出海須面對驚濤駭浪,收穫亦無保障,故此信奉各種神靈,禳災求福,希望藉此帶來好運,過較佳的生活。南區建有很多廟宇,平日香火鼎盛,尤其在並非漁汛的日子,善信絡繹不絕。每逢神誕,攜帶三牲酒禮、香燭果品前往酬神和祈福者更不可勝數。


西方宗教傳入

香港開埠以後,西方的宗教亦隨之傳入。南區很早已建有天主教堂。1845年,裴神父(Fr. Feliciano)在赤柱購入民房,改裝成一所小聖堂,為赤柱軍營的士兵及日漸增加的華人教徒服務。范耐爾神父(Fr. Fenouil)其後在1850年於香港仔興建了一所聖若瑟小聖堂,其服務範圍包括鄰近的黃竹坑、石排灣等鄉村。

20世紀初年,浸信會在香港仔和鴨脷洲一帶展開傳道工作。其後,香港海面傳道會福音船落成下水,為漁民舉辦識字班及崇拜活動,使南區的宗教信仰變得多元化。漁民雖仍以信奉中國民間神祇為主,但在傳教士的努力傳教下,信奉天主教和基督教的人數日益增加。