Print
Xiao Hong
Biography:
Birth name - Zhāng Năiyíng 張迺瑩.
A contemporary Chinese female writer.

Born in 1911, Heilongjiang Province.
Died in 1942, Hong Kong.

Xiao Hong had made a name for herself with her novel The Field of Life and Death and was highly recommended by Lu Xun.  In 1940, Xiao and her spouse Duanmu Hongliang fled the war and made their way to Hong Kong.  Despite ill-health and poverty, she managed to complete her famous long novels Tales of Hulan River and Ma Bole in a tiny room that could only accommodate a bed and a desk.  Quite a number of Xiao’s famous pieces were either written in Hong Kong or published in local newspapers, including Spring in a Small Town.

By the end of 1941, Hong Kong succumbed.  Xiao was critically ill but had no fixed abode.  In early 1942, being plagued by illness and wartime suffering, she lost her fight for life eventually in a temporary medical station situated at St. Stephen’s Girls’ College at the age of 31.  Her last words were “I am going to be with the azure sky and blue water forever”.  Knowing that Xiao loved watching the sea, Duanmu buried half of her ashes in the Repulse Bay.  It was alleged that he secretly buried the other half of her ashes in the vicinity of St. Stephen’s Girls’ College.  The original Xiao’s grave at the Repulse Bay had been destroyed, but fortunately her ashes were located and retrieved for burial in Guangzhou in 1957.
R5
Footsteps in the Southern District:
In 1940 Xiao Hong and her lover Duanmu Hongliang fled from Chongqing, China to Hong Kong, and the couple took up residence at Tsim Sha Tsui.  In face of the threats of war and suffering of illness, Xiao died tragically in 1942.  Knowing that Xiao loved watching the sea, Duanmu buried half of her ashes at the Repulse Bay.  It was alleged that he secretly buried the other half of her ashes in the vicinity of St. Stephen’s Girls’ College.  The original Xiao’s grave at the Repulse Bay had been destroyed, but fortunately her ashes were located and retrieved for burial in Guangzhou in 1957.



 



Landmark
Literary Landmark:
Stray Birds 31 (Best Design Award)
pic2
Location:
Repulse Bay beach
Completion Date:
June 2016
Designer:
SONG Si-chuan, Song (School of Design of the Hong Kong Polytechnic University)
Design Concept:
Xiao had always described herself as a flying bird.  Hence, the designer chooses to feature an art form of flying birds at Xiao’s favourite seashore at the Repulse Bay to reflect her spirit and aspiration for freedom of flying.  The 31 birds represent the short life of Xiao, each flying to different directions and in different postures to echo with the turmoil and wandering life Xiao Hong had led.  The colour of the birds changes from white to red gradually to signify the colour of Xiao’s life.  Each bird also carries a year mark and serial number to record Xiao’s life and her writing in the corresponding year.
Means of Transport:
Bus (NWFB/CityBus):
6,6A,6X,63,65,66,73,260,973
trailmap_xh

列印
蕭紅
生平:
本名張迺瑩。中國現代女作家。

生於1911年,黑龍江省。
卒於1942年,香港。

蕭紅以小說《生死場》揚名,深得魯迅賞識。她於1940年與愛侶端木蕻良因逃避戰亂來港。抱恙在身的她,在僅容得下睡床和書桌的斗室中,完成了《呼蘭河傳》、《馬伯樂》等巨著。蕭紅不少名作均在香港寫成,或在本港報刊發表,包括《小城三月》。

1941年年底,香港淪陷,病重的蕭紅居無定所,翌年初終不敵奔波和頑疾的困擾,在設於聖士提反女子中學的臨時醫護站,留下「我將與藍天碧水永處」的遺言便撒手塵寰,年僅31歲。端木知道蕭紅最愛看海,遂將她的一半骨灰葬在淺水灣,又悄悄藏起另一半骨灰,聽說埋在聖士提反女子中學校園。原位於淺水灣的蕭紅墓曾遭到破壞,幸而其骨灰最終被起回,並於1957年移葬廣州。




R5
在南區的足跡:
蕭紅與愛侶端木蕻良於1940年因逃避戰亂從重慶來港,居於尖沙咀,終於1942年在戰亂和頑疾折騰下撒手塵寰。端木知道蕭紅最愛看海,遂將她的一半骨灰葬在淺水灣,又悄悄藏起另一半骨灰,聽說埋在聖士提反女子中學校園。原位於淺水灣的蕭紅墓曾遭到破壞,幸而其骨灰最終被起回,並於1957年移葬廣州。

 



地標
地標名稱:
飛鳥三十一 (獲「最佳設計大獎」的作品)
pic2
地標位置:
淺水灣泳灘
落成日期:
2016年6月
設計者:
宋斯純 (香港理工大學設計學院)
設計理念:
蕭紅常自比飛鳥,所以設計者選擇了在蕭紅生前最鍾愛的淺水灣海邊,以鳥的形態表達她的精神和願望,寓意她可以自由翱翔。三十一隻鳥代表蕭紅短暫的一生;每隻鳥均朝不同的方向及以不同的姿態飛行,代表她跌宕飄零的經歷;鳥的顏色由白漸變深紅,代表她生命的色彩;三十一隻鳥上均有年份和序號,記錄當時的蕭紅和她的文字。
交通:
途經巴士線(新巴/城巴):
6,6A,6X,63,65,66,73,260,973
trailmap_xh