Print

Stanley

Stanley Military Cemetery

Address: 31 Wong Ma Kok Road, Stanley, Hong Kong
How to get there: About 10 minutes walk along Wong Ma Kok Road in the direction of Stanley Fort
Stanley Military Cemetery is set on a hillock. This tranquil and spacious place with lush green grass is rated as the most picturesque cemetery in Hong Kong. Those who were laid to rest here were nameless heroes who gave their lives for freedom when they resisted the invading Japanese troops. Among them were members of the Hong Kong Volunteers and British Army Aid Group. The latter operated in fallen Chinese territories to help war prisoners escape, collect intelligence and supply medication to war camps. Their noble spirit of serving fellow Chinese courageously in wartime China is admirable. After seeing the busy side of Stanley, the military cemetery is a brisk change and a good chance for relaxing body and mind.
Barrierfree Travel Index: 0

Stanley Military Cemetery is set on a hill accessible only by a flight of steps.
Old Stanley Police Station

Address: 88 Stanley Village Road
Opening Hours: 8:00am - 10:00pm daily
Stanley is a favourite destination for barbecue and picnic, and visitors can get their supplies from a very special local supermarket. Stepping inside, you will be attracted by the antiquate wooden floor. Explore further and you will find that the layout is quite unusual, with several large vintage fireplaces by the shelves. This supermarket is unique because it was formerly the Stanley police station. Built in 1859, Old Stanley Station is one of the earliest police stations in Hong Kong. Since all the other five have been demolished, it is now the oldest and thus commands great heritage significance. This two-storey colonial style building was converted into a supermarket in 2003. Visitors can enjoy a novel experience of shopping in a 150-year-old historical monument.
Barrierfree Travel Index:

Old Stanley Police Station, now operating as a supermarket, has very unusual layout. The road leading up is level but the shop entrance is narrow. The upper floor is accessible only by stairway.
Stanley Post Office

Address: 2 Wong Ma Kok Road
Opening Hours:
9:30am - 5:00pm Monday to Friday
9:30am - 1:00pm Saturday
If you wish to share the beautiful scenery of Southern District with family and friends overseas, send a scenic post card at the Stanley Post Office. This oldest of the 130 post offices now operating in Hong Kong has no modern décor or spacious interior. Its appeal lies in the unique metal window grills engraved with King George VI's "GR" emblem and the manual brass stamp dispensers on the wall. After the handover, traditional red British post boxes are very hard to find. If you want to see the only extant red cast-iron post box engraved with King George VI's emblem, head for Stanley Post Office.
Barrierfree Travel Index:
The post office is conveniently located on Wong Ma Kok Road and within close proximity to several historical monuments.
Stanley Tin Hau Temple

Address: 119 Stanley Main Street
No visit to Tin Hau Temple is complete without a look at the genuine tiger skin! A tiger roamed the Stanley countryside in 1942 during the Japanese Occupation. Locals lived in horror. Then a modern day Wu-song came to their rescue. His name was Rur Singh. This ethnic Indian police officer shot the tiger and presented the skin to the villagers. Since then, it has been exhibited in the Tin Hau Temple for more than half a century.

Tin Hau Temple is of course a dedicated place of worship for the goddess of the sea. However this small temple also has shrines of nearly 20 other deities, including Kwun Yum, Che Kung, Wong Tai Sin, Guandi and Hung Shing. When you visit, remember to take a good look at all the eminent gods and goddesses inside.
Barrierfree Travel Index:

Tin Hau Temple sits right by Stanley Plaza. The road is wide and level with toilets for the disabled nearby.
Stanley Market and Pat Kan Uk
The ever popular Stanley Market is situated in Stanley New Street near the Stanley food market. It is a fair of small shops and street stalls flaunting handicrafts and souvenirs rich in local flavour, as well as household items, toys and low cost fashion. The selection is dazzling and offers great value for money. After a shopping spree, sit down to sample authentic Hong Kong street delicacies. On hot summer days, the beach nearby is the best place to cool off. Swimwear and other beach items are available in many shops in Stanley Market, so you can enjoy sun, sea and sand at the whim of the moment.

At the bottom of the market, continue along the sea front and you will see small kiosks selling souvenirs, clothes and snacks. Shopping by the idyllic seaside setting is always a pleasure.

For a change of scene after Stanley Market and the food kiosks, take a look at Pat Kan Uk, a row of eight houses. Many people think they are abandoned pre-war buildings but each of them is still a home to elders. There were eight houses belonging to farming families in Wong Ma Kok before the Sino-Japanese War. The government recovered the land to develop barracks and a terrace of eight houses were built here by Stanley Bay as relocation homes for the residents.
Murray House

Address: Stanley Plaza, Stanley
Murray was originally an office building of the British forces stationed in Hong Kong. First completed in Central back in 1846, it was subsequently used as military officers' quarters, officers club and government offices. During the Japanese Occupation, Murray House was a torture and interrogation centre. These changes stood witness to more than a century's historical vicissitudes in Hong Kong.

When the local economy took flight in the 1970's and 1980's, the plot of land on which Murray House stood became valuable property. In 1983, Murray House was demolished to give way to the new Bank of China Building. More than 3,000 blocks of the building were stored in Tai Tam for 15 years. Eventually, a permanent home was found here in Stanley.

The labelled granite blocks were reassembled, just like toy building blocks. It looked simple but the positioning of every block had to been precisely calculated. Adding to the challenge was that some raw materials like chimneys were lost during demolition. As a result, the whole redevelopment project took substantial manpower and resources. Today, Murray House is a landmark of Stanley. This Victorian architecture by the sea houses restaurants that offer different cuisines. Sampling international gourmet food in the comfortable sea breeze is surely a great way to experience Stanley. Also not to be missed is the Hong Kong Maritime Museum downstairs that showcases interesting relics and maritime knowledge. Murray House is a must-see to any visitor to Hong Kong.
Barrierfree Travel Index:

There are toilets for the disabled, wide access ways and ramps inside the building. The upper floor restaurants are accessible by escalators and lifts.
Blake Pier

Address: Outside Murray House
Opening Hours: All day
Blake Pier and Murray House have had similar paths of fate. Both vintage architecture of Central, they were demolished to make way for new developments on their expensive prime plots. Today, Blake Pier stands on the picturesque Stanley seafront, exhibiting her original beauty that has not changed for a century.

Who is Blake? He was the 12th Governor of Hong Kong. As he was in office during the construction of the pier, it was named after him. In the 1960's, all new Governor of Hong Kong disembarked at Blake Pier to assume their office. For this reason the pier was also known as Royal Pier.

For those who have been to Stanley before, there is now a good reason for a revisit. A new ferry service between Stanley and Po Toi came into operation recently. After an excursion to Po Toi, what better way to end the day than dining in Murray House or enjoying the beautiful sunset on the Stanley promenade?

Link for the ferry route between Stanley/Aberdeen and Po Toi: http://www.traway.com.hk/
Barrierfree Travel Index:

There are wide access roads along the seafront and at Blake Pier. Murray House nearby has toilets for the disabled.

列印

Stanley

赤柱

赤柱軍人墳場

地址:香港赤柱黃麻角道31號
前往方法:沿黃麻角道向赤柱砲台方向步行十分鐘
赤柱軍人墳場位於小山丘上,環境幽靜寬廣,再加上一片綠油油的草地,故被稱為香港最優美的墓園。埋葬於墓園是力抗日軍,為自由而犧牲的無名英雄,當中包括香港義勇軍人及英軍服務團的成員,後者在中國淪陷區工作,協助戰俘逃走、收集軍事情報及為戰俘營供應藥物,在抗戰時期為國民出力,其志可嘉。遊畢繁華喧鬧的赤柱,不妨到墓園走一趟,讓身心得到另一番的體會。
旅遊無障礙指標:0

赤柱軍人墳場位於小山丘上,只能經梯級前往。
舊赤柱警署

地址:赤柱村道88號
開放時間:每日上午8時至晚上10時
赤柱除了是著名的燒烤旅遊熱點外,該處更有一所非常別緻的超級市場。甫進店內,你便會發現這所超級市場的間隔特別,貨架旁還有幾個大型壁爐,而它最與眾不同的地方在於它的前身—舊赤柱警署。舊赤柱警署建於1859年,是香港最早建成的六所警署之一,而另外五所已遭拆卸,故赤柱警署順利成章成為香港歷史最悠久的警隊建築物,歷史價值極高。這座充滿殖民地風采兩層高的建築物於2003年改建為超級市場,令遊客可以一嘗在一座150年的古蹟內購物之樂。
旅遊無障礙指標:

舊赤柱警署即超級市場現址,間隔特別。雖然店外路面平坦,可是店鋪門口狹窄,而且必須用樓梯通往上層。
赤柱郵政局

地址:黃麻角道2號
開放時間:
星期一至星期五:上午9時30分至下午5時
星期六:上午9時30分至下午1時
如果想將香港南區的好風景跟遠方的親友分享,不妨到赤柱郵政局寄張明信片。在香港130間營運的郵局之中,赤柱郵政局是最古老的一所。這裏沒有現代化的裝飾,亦欠缺寬敞的環境,卻有獨一無二的鐵窗花,上面刻有英皇佐治六世的標記「GR」,正門牆上更有人手操作的銅製郵票售賣機。自香港回歸中國後,傳統英式紅郵箱已所剩無幾了。若遊客想一睹香港絕無僅有,印有英皇佐治六世標記的紅色鑄鐵郵箱,便要一訪赤柱郵政局。
旅遊無障礙指標:
郵政局位於黃麻角道,毗鄰多個古蹟景點,地點方便。
赤柱天后廟

地址:赤柱大街119號
來到赤柱天后廟,一定要看看廟內那塊如假包換的真虎皮!1942年日治時期,赤柱村一帶有猛虎出沒,令居民日夜提心吊膽。此時,出現了一位「現代版武松」。這位打虎英雄名叫羅亞星,是印籍日警。老虎被射殺之後,羅亞星把虎皮送給村民。從此,虎皮在赤柱天后廟內被供奉了超過半個世紀。

天后廟當然是供奉天后的地方,但事實上小小的一間廟宇還供奉了近二十個神靈,包括觀音、車公、黃大仙、關帝及洪聖太歲等。有機會來到天后廟,要認真看看裡面大有來頭的神佛啊!
旅遊無障礙指標:

天后廟設於赤柱廣場的旁邊,道路寬闊而平坦,旁邊也設有傷殘人士洗手間。
赤柱市集與八間屋
熱門旅遊點赤柱市集位於赤柱新街及赤柱市場附近,當中的小商店及攤檔皆售賣富有本地特色的手工藝精品、紀念品、家居用品、玩具、平價服飾等,款式應有盡有,價廉物美。市集內另有士多攤檔,可讓你一嚐香港地道小吃。炎夏時,鄰近的沙灘便是最佳的消暑降溫好去處。市集內有不少商店售賣泳裝、水上用品,讓你可隨時親近陽光與海灘。

當你逛完市集後再往海邊走,便會看見海濱長廊及多間小賣亭售賣各式手信、服飾及小食等,你可邊購物邊欣賞海天一色的的優美景致,非常寫意。

遊過赤柱市集及小賣亭後,不妨順道到附近的「八間屋」一遊。看到八間屋,一定以為這個戰前建築群早已人去樓空。細看之下,原來屋內仍有市民居住。日戰之前,黃麻角原本有八間屋,屬八戶農民所有。後來政府在該處興建軍營,就在赤柱灣畔建造八棟相連的房子安置居民。
赤柱美利樓

地址:赤柱赤柱廣場
美利樓原是駐港英軍的辦公大樓,於1846年在中環落成。大樓曾被改為軍官宿舍、軍官俱樂部和政府辦事處。在太平洋戰爭期間被日軍佔領,成為日軍拷問處,這些不同的用途標誌着香港百多年的歷史變遷。

七、八十年代經濟急速發展,美利樓不得不讓出珍貴的中區地皮,1983年被拆卸後,原址改建為中國銀行大廈,它的三千份組件在大潭靜候了十五年,終於在赤柱灣畔覓得長居之所。

將拆卸下來的花崗石逐一編號再重新嵌上,看似砌積木般簡單容易,但每一塊大石的擺放位置其實都經過精密計算,加上部分原材料如煙囱在拆卸過程中遺失,故整個重建計劃需花費大量人力物力。如今美利樓已成為赤柱地標,靠山面海的維多利亞式大樓內有各種特色餐廳供遊客選擇,一邊吹着海風,一邊品嚐異國美食。此外,餐廳樓下的海事博物館展出珍貴的文物,並提供各樣海事知識,來到香港怎可以錯過美利樓呢?
旅遊無障礙指標:

美利樓設有傷殘人士洗手間、寬闊通道及斜坡,另設有扶手電梯、升降機通往二樓食肆。
卜公碼頭

地址:美利樓外
開放時間:全日開放
卜公碼頭和美利樓都有着相似命運,兩者原本建在中環,但為了騰出地皮予新建築項目而遭拆卸。現在,卜公碼頭被安置在優美的赤柱海旁,令後人有機會重睹它百年前的原貌。

卜公,究竟是何方神聖呢?他是香港第12任總督卜力,碼頭是卜力在位期間興建,故以卜公命名。六十年代來港的新任港督都是從卜公碼頭上岸,故又名為皇家碼頭。

對於已遊覽過赤柱的遊客,現在又多了一個到訪的理由。最近,來往卜公碼頭與蒲台島的渡輪現已投入服務。遊畢蒲台島後,不妨在赤柱美利樓享用晚餐或在海濱長廊欣賞醉人的黃昏景色。

赤柱/香港仔 – 蒲台島航線的相關連結:
http://www.traway.com.hk/
旅遊無障礙指標:

海旁道及卜公碼頭均設有寬闊通道,附近的美利樓亦設有傷殘人士洗手間。