Print

Repulse Bay

Repulse Bay Beach and Life Guard Club's Terraces

Address: Beach Road, Repulse Bay
Amongst the many lovely beaches in the Southern District, the Repulse Bay is the most popular one for tourists from near and far. Sweeping sand sets against luxury residential homes, the bay is a scenic spot blending modernity and classic elegance. The name Repulse Bay comes from HMS Repulse, a British naval vessel stationed here in the 1840's.

The Repulse Bay is the most spectacular architecture on the bayside slopes. This character building was formerly the Repulse Bay Hotel built in the 1920's. Renowned for its British architectural style and unique cut-out form, it earned the admiration of every visitor. During WWII, the Repulse Bay Hotel was used as a stronghold and a hospital by the British forces. Over the years, it became a favourite spot for the literati and artists. In her novel Love in a Fallen City, famous writer Zhang Ai-ling arranged her leading male and female characters to meet here. The hotel also featured in two Hollywood movies: Love is a Many Splendored Thing and Coming Home. These classics have enriched the Repulse Bay's legendary story. In 1982, the hotel was redeveloped into The Repulse Bay, a service apartment complex. Take a stroll in the continental shopping arcade on the ground floor and elegant gardens, spend a moment in the scenes of vintage movies, or enjoy a nice cup of English tea and embark on a nostalgic journey in time. The choice is entirely yours.

Life Guard Club's Terraces by the beach have a dazzling display of deities and figures from Chinese mythology. The statues, the Longevity Pavilion, the Longevity Bridge and the Life Guard Club are all perfect backgrounds for holiday shots.

列印

Repulse_Bay

淺水灣

淺水灣沙灘及鎮海樓公園

地址:淺水灣海灘道
南區的沙灘眾多,當中以淺水灣沙灘最受中外遊客歡迎,廣闊的沙灘加上背後的高尚住宅,構成一幅既現代又優雅的風景畫。1840年代,英國海軍軍艦HMS Repulse駐守於淺水灣,因此把這個海灣命名為‘Repulse Bay’。

淺水灣山巒上最具特色的大樓—影灣園,前身為淺水灣酒店,建於1920年,它的英式建築風格加上中空形設計吸引了所有遊客的目光。二次大戰期間,淺水灣酒店曾成為英軍的據點及醫院。當年的酒店亦深受文人與藝術家喜愛。 張愛玲安排小說《傾城之戀》中的兩位主角在這裡邂逅;兩部荷里活電影《生死戀 Love is a Many Splendored Thing》及《榮歸 Coming Home》亦曾在淺水灣酒店取景拍攝,為淺水灣增添不少傳奇色彩。淺水灣酒店於1982年被改建成服務式住宅—影灣園,遊客不妨走進樓下歐陸式的商場及雅緻園林,流連於昔日的電影場景,呷一口英式紅茶,讓時光緩緩倒流。

喜愛陽光與海灘的你,有過以下的體驗嗎?帶着一堆防曬油、相機、沙灘墊,好不容易來到沙灘,卻發現忘了帶毛巾之類的物品;烈日當空之下找不到買汽水的地方;沒有人留守沙灘看管財物,而難以玩得盡興。淺水灣沙灘便顧及到沙灘活動愛好者的需要,這裡有便利店、咖啡店、雜貨店、沖洗設備、更衣室及儲物櫃等設施,讓你可以毫無後顧之憂地享受淺水灣的碧海與白沙。

海灘旁邊的鎮海樓公園齊集各個中國神佛及古代神話人物的塑像,令人眼花撩亂,這些神像和萬壽亭、長壽橋及鎮海樓皆是拍照留念的好地方。

儘管酒店現已被改建,但於原址仿建的露台餐廳,仍保留了原貌,洋溢古雅的懷舊氣息。

旅遊無障礙指標:

淺水灣沙灘鄰近公共巴士站及停車場,但需經過一段樓梯才能到達沙灘。