Print

Others

BNP Paribas Museum of Bethanie

Address: 139 Pokfulam Road
(next to Chinese Cuisine Training Institute)
First time visitors to Bethanie would find it hard to believe that they are actually in Hong Kong, but this sanatorium can be found in Pokfulam of the Southern District on Hong Kong Island.

Bethanie House was built by Missions Etrangeres de Paris (French Mission) in 1875 when missionaries carried out religious work across Asia. They used Bethanie as a temporary home or sanatorium. In the 1940's, foreign missionaries were deported from China during the turmoil and revolution, and Missions Etrangeres de Paris' significant role in Hong Kong was also diminishing. The property fell into the hands of Hong Kong Land, Hong Kong University Press and then the Hong Kong Government. In 2003, the right of use was eventually granted to the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts and Bethanie was reborn as a new campus of the Academy's School of Film and Television.

During the two-year restoration project, while refurbishing the existing buildings and adding teaching facilities, the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts faced major challenge in recovering missing relics and features which were removed after Bethanie was sold to the previous owners in 1974. These valuable features include 19 stained glass windows, statues of the Twelve Apostles, altar and reredos. The search for these relics to restore Bethanie to its original glory brought HKAPA across the territory and even overseas. Time and again, clues led them to various missions in Hong Kong and government warehouses, and French historian Professor Alain Le Pichon was commissioned to search the French Mission Archives in Paris.

Thanks to concerted effort, Bethanie was successfully restored and open to the public in 2006. When you admire the beautiful relics before you, take a moment to reminisce the stories behind them. Imagine how they were once lost in foreign places or forgotten, and then brought back to their home.

D'Aguilar Peninsula (Cape D'Aguilar Lighthouse and Cape D'Aguilar Marine Reserve)

Address: D'Aguilar Peninsula
D'Aguilar Peninsula sits at the southeastern tip of Hong Kong Island. While most people are not too familiar with this place, it is well worth exploring.

The Cape D'Aguilar Marine Reserve covers almost 20 hectares of nearby waters. Here visitors interested in natural landforms can see tuff and granodiorite strata created by volcanic activities. The steep granite rocky shore is a favourite spot. Inside Thunder Cave and Crab Cave, you can feel the tempestuous force of surging ocean swells. 

Another treasure of D'Aguilar peninsula is the century-old Cape D'Aguilar Lighthouse. Built in 1875, it was the first lighthouse in Hong Kong. This 9.7m white round stone tower guides vessels into Hong Kong from the east. The base, archway and spiral stairway are all fine masonry works. The upper part of the main iron gates is decorated with unique geometric patterns.

The lighthouse is not open to the public but visitors can appreciate their attractive exterior. D'Aguilar peninsula is an ideal hiking destination. Its unusual natural landscape and lighthouse draw many nature and photography fans. They come here to discover a lesser known face of the Southern District.

列印

其他

伯大尼

地址:香港薄扶林道139號(毗鄰中華廚藝學院)
初次見到伯大尼,大部分人不敢相信它位處於香港境內。其實這座修院正是位於港島南區的薄扶林。

由1875年巴黎外方傳教會所興建,當年傳教士在亞洲各地傳教,他們在伯大尼暫住或療養。四十年代,中國內地掀起連串革命,外國傳教士被驅逐出境,巴黎外方傳教會在香港的角色亦今非昔比。後來修院的業權輾轉落入置地集團、香港大學出版社、政府等,最後,香港演藝學院於2003年獲得修院的使用權,把伯大尼列作轄下電影電視學院的校舍。

兩年多的修復工程中,除了翻新建築物及加建教學設施外,另一項艱鉅的任務是尋回於1974年修院出售時被撤走的珍貴文物,包括小教堂內的19扇彩畫玻璃窗、聖像、祭台、祭台屏風。為了重現伯大尼的原貌,香港演藝學院四出打探這些文物的下落,根據線索多次到訪香港各修會及政府倉庫,並委任法國歷史學家樂艾倫教授親身到巴黎外方傳教會的總會的檔案庫蒐集資料。

幸而,伯大尼修院經過多方的努力已修復完成,並由2006年開放予公眾參觀。如今,欣賞眼前的每件文物的時候,不妨細閱背後一個個失而復得的故事:它們曾經流落異地,或被世人所遺忘,最後重返伯大尼。

旅遊無障礙指標:

設有寬闊通道、梯級及斜坡供遊客使用。
大學堂(德格拉斯堡)

地址:薄扶林道144號
電話:2550 0542
德格拉斯是蘇格蘭鴨巴甸商人,於19世紀向香港政府購買薄扶林九畝半的土地興建堡壘,作為府第及德格拉斯氣船公司總部。

1894年巴黎外方傳教會購入德格拉斯堡,作為傳道及印書館之用,稱為納匝肋印書館,並依固有建築形式加建神父的居所、聖堂、地下室及印刷房,漸漸和附近的伯大尼修院發展成一個教區。日本侵佔香港期間,德格拉斯堡受到大肆破壞。直到1954年,香港大學購入該座城堡並改裝成學生宿舍—大學堂。

大學堂都鐸及哥德式的建築風格,城堡的每個角度都值得遊人駐足欣賞。居高臨下,更可看見從西面進出維多利亞港的船隻。
旅遊無障礙指標:

遊客需經過一段斜坡才能到大學堂參觀。
鶴嘴半島(鶴嘴燈塔及鶴嘴海岸保護區)

地址:鶴嘴半島
前往方法:乘坐新巴9號線,於鶴嘴道下車再步行約四十分鐘
鶴嘴半島位於港島的東南方,雖然一般人對這個地方都感到陌生,但鶴嘴的探索價值卻是十分高。

附近20公頃的海域面積屬於鶴嘴海岸保護區的範圍,對自然地貌有興趣的遊人可以欣賞由火山爆發形成的凝灰岩和花崗閃長岩。遊人更愛走到陡斜的花崗石岸上,到雷音洞和蟹洞兩個海蝕洞內感受剎那的驚濤骸浪。香港大學海洋生物研究所亦設立在鶴嘴,研究所外展出一副珍貴的抹香幼鯨骨。

鶴嘴另一個珍寶是有過百年歷史的鶴嘴燈塔(又稱德忌立角燈塔)。它建於1875年,是香港第一座燈塔。白色的圓形石塔高9.7米,為從東面進入香港的船隻導航。燈塔底座、拱形門口及螺旋式樓梯均由石塊砌成,工藝精湛。位於入口的鐵門上方,飾有幾何圖案,別具特色。

雖然燈塔和香港大學海洋生物研究所不開放予公眾參觀,但遊人亦可欣賞它們的外觀。鶴嘴半島亦是遠足的好去處,獨特的自然風貌加上白色燈塔,吸引不少大自然、攝影愛好者到這裡發掘南區鮮為人知的一面。