Print

Local History

Pokfulam, Wah Fu Estate and Wah Kwai Estate

For years, Pokfulam, Wah Fu Estate and Wah Kwai Estate were essentially a residential neighbourhood. With the emergence of Cyberport, this local area gradually developed into an important business area and a choice leisure destination.

The name "Pokfulam" for its origin from a bird called Pok-fu which occurred in abundance in the local woods. In the early years, Pokfulam was only a village (near Chi Fu Fa Yuen today). Later it became the name of the whole local district. Many traditional folk customs, such as paying homage to Li Ling Shin Che, worshipping well wishing tablets and the Mid-autumn Festival fire dragon dance, have been preserved to this day in Pokfulam Village. According to old residents, Bauhinia blakeana, the floral emblem of Hong Kong, was first recorded in Pokfulam. In 1886, Diary Farm set up pastures in Pokfulam where diary cattle were reared. This operation grew into a sizeable business with diversified activities, and Pokfulam became an area where commercial and residential developments stood side by side. As the Catholic church established a presence here very early, Pokfulam has always been a cosmopolitan district that blends old and new.

The area where Wah Fu Estate stands today was known as Kai Lung Wan in the past. The name, meaning Chicken Cage Bay, is said to reflect the meandering hill paths which resembled staggered bamboo chips on chicken cages. In 1963, the Hong Kong Housing Authority was formed. It announced plans to develop 10 low-cost public housing estates, and Wah Fu Estate was one of them. Wah Fu Estate was the first town-type housing estate in Hong Kong equipped with a shopping arcade, wet market, carparks, schools and public library. Such housing plan was very innovative at the time.


Aberdeen

The Aberdeen, Shek Pai Wan, Tin Wan and Chi Fu area extends to Welfare Road and Shum Wan Road in the east, the Aberdeen praya in the south, Chi Fu Fa Yuen in the west, and the Aberdeen Country Park in the north. An economic hub of the Southern District, it is a popular shopping and entertainment destination for local residents. This area is home to many historical monuments and countryside picnic sites. It offers a wide choice both to visitors who enjoy serenity and those who are more energetic.

It is said that Aberdeen was originally called Hong Kong. This small anchorage was so named because it was a transshipment port for incense wood from Dongguan since the Jiajing reign of the Ming dynasty. Wood was shipped from Dongguan to Tsimshatsui (known as Heung Po Tau in the old days) by road where it was transferred to Aberdeen by small boats. From there, the fragrant wood was loaded onto large barges to sail for Guangzhou, and then onward to Jiangsu and Zhejiang. As for the English name Aberdeen, it might have something to do with a British foreign minister. When Hong Kong first became a British colony, it was a fashion to name local places after eminent British politicians. It is believed that the name of Lord Aberdeen was chosen for this southern anchorage.

Aberdeen is a wide bay in the western corner of the Southern District. Overlooking Ap Lei Chau, it is a good natural harbour shielded by islands. Thanks to this favourable setting, it has been an important fishing harbour for many centuries, and one of the oldest villages in Hong Kong. Soon after the city of Hong Kong came to being, Aberdeen developed into a key shipbuilding centre. Aberdeen Centre today used to be repair docks of the Hongkong and Whampoa Dockyard. Later when the catering and tourist trades flourished, seafood restaurants sprouted up in Aberdeen and demand for seafood grew sharply. After the 1960's, with the completion of several housing estates, Aberdeen's population surged and living conditions improved significantly. Offered at prices far more competitive than urban spaces, Aberdeen's industrial land also attracted manufacturers. Factories increased both in numbers and variety, and the local industries provided residents with employment. Drawn by new opportunities, many boat people moved ashore to seek more stable livelihoods. As a result, the local fishing community gradually diminished.
Ap Lei Chau

It is said that the rocky eastern tip of the island exposed at low tide looks uncannily like a duck's tongue, and thus the name Ap Lei Chau (with lei being Cantonese for "tongue"). Another version is that the island is so named because of its long slender shape that resembles a duck's tongue.

Ap Lei Chau was a sparsely populated island in the early years. When fishing families began settling along the northern shore, fishing village houses, shipyards, salt fish sunning grounds and fishing net drying shacks gradually appeared, and the local population slowly increased after WWII. Ap Lei Chau was a peaceful community. Villagers led unsophisticated amicable lives, and disputes were uncommon. Ap Lei Chau Main Street was the busy thoroughfare lined with restaurants and shops selling fishing tools and ceremonial offerings. The island also had more than a hundred Dai Pai Dongs (open air food stalls).

In the old days, Ap Lei Chau was a very close-knit community. Residents had a strong sense of belonging and helped each other as good neighbours. The locals gave generously for public welfare. For example, all members of Tong Hing Commune and Kaifong Association provided their service voluntarily. Sometimes they even had to pay day-to-day expenses out of their own pockets. Many were happy to take these posts nonetheless and efforts for community welfare never stopped. Throughout the year, there were fund-raising events for religious ceremonies, festive celebrations, new school and living environment upgrade projects.
Wong Chuk Hang

As the word hang implies, the name Wong Chuk Hang may be associated with a hill stream. In fact, the famous Wong Chuk Hang Rock Carving site northwest of Nam Fung Road is a dried up river bed. In the Ming dynasty, incense was a major export of Hong Kong. Incense wood was shipped from Dongguan to a distribution market near today's Shek Pai Wan. This area, known as Hong Kong Village, later developed into the Old Hong Kong Walled Village. Not far from the walled village was a place called Tit Hang where the New Hong Kong Walled Village used to be. Tai Shui Hang, a stream nearby, was a favourite spot for local children to wash and play. This stream was later remodeled into a channel by the Drainage Services Department. The channel was lined with golden yellow bamboos on both sides. This unique scenery gave rise to the name Wong Chuk Hang, meaning yellow bamboo stream.

A muddy terrain, Wong Chuk Hang was not particularly fertile. Land was largely barren and residents were few. Major settlements were Wong Chuk Hang San Wai and Wong Chuk Hang Kau Wai. They were villages of the Chow lineage, a clan to which the late prominent local figure Chow Shou Son belonged. After the war, the population of Wong Chuk Hang grew steadily. Industry and commerce developed and both villages attracted non-lineage newcomers. The majority of land was converted to industrial use. Offering low elevation and broad space, it was an appealing location. Ocean Park chose it for its site, and so did several other sports grounds. The government currently has plans to transform Aberdeen and peripheral areas into a tourist district. Wong Chuk Hang will be upgraded into an area incorporating tourism, hotels, shopping and leisure.
Stanley and Shek O

There are several stories behind the name Stanley:
  1. Some say there were many Tree Cottons (or Flame Trees) in Stanley. During the summer flowering season, these tall trees were decorated by blazing red blossoms. Towering like numerous fiery red pillars, they gave Stanley its Chinese name, meaning red pillars.
  2. Legend has it that in the early Qing dynasty there was a giant Tree Cotton in Stanley. Badly hit during a typhoon, its bark peeled and all branches and leaves fell to the ground. However, the tree stood tall and looked like a blazing red wooden pillar from afar.
  3. Some say Stanley is so named because the peninsular is shaped like a rice pounding rod, and the coastal cliffs are rugged with many exposed reddish brown boulders.
  4. The last version is also connected with the precipitous cliffs by the sea. People say at the crack of dawn when the sun shines gently on the hills, the cliff face glows like a red pillar.
As for the English name Stanley, it is believed to commemorate British naval commander Stanley who landed here with his troops and overcame the notorious pirate Cheung Po Tsai who occupied the area. Human settlement in Stanley was first recorded in very ancient times. It became a thriving community and small fishing harbour in the Ming dynasty. In the early years, Stanley was an important rural township. Stanley Village was known as Chek Market in the past. It stands witness to early commercial activities of the peninsula. Today, Stanley is a famous tourist spot.

Shek O is characterised by two beaches in the north and south respectively. The north beach is laden with rocks and most probably gave Shek O its name, meaning rocky bay. This beach is quite dangerous and leisure activities is discouraged. By contrast, the south beach is ideal for swimming and water sports. Shek O is an outpost to the Pacific, and the easternmost corner of Hong Kong Island. Despite its coastal location, it does not support fishing because the unshielded bay is exposed to high winds and rough waves. Fishermen have always been few. Shek O beach offers lucid water and silvery sand. In the late 1940’s it was developed into a famous sea-bathing resort which provided good swimming facilities for the public in summer. Many local fishermen operated side businesses to serve the tourists, such as beach tent hiring, swimming supplies and food.



Repulse_Bay_Hotel_in_1920

The_famous_Repulse_Bay_Hotel_in_1920s
Repluse Bay

On the New Year’s Day of 1920, the Repulse Bay Hotel opened by the Governor of Hong Kong Sir Edward Stubbs K.C.M.G.

Looking back over the sixty-two years of the Repulse Bay Hotel, it was not only a popular spot for locals who enjoyed the drive out to the beach on weekends.  It was also a favourite home for many expatriates working in the Far East and for international travellers.  Famous names who have patronised the hotel include George Bernard Shaw and Noel Coward in the thirties, Marlon Brando in the fifties, Spain’s Crown Prince Juan Carlos and Crown Princess Sofia spent their honeymoon at the hotel; Prince Axel of Denmark and Prince Peter of Greece also stayed.

Other famous movie stars also sought solace in the hotel environment.  Love Is A Many Splendoured Thing was partly filmed in the hotel and the Reading Room was used as a venue in the Oscar winning film Coming Home.  One might have come across Peter Sellers at a Sunday Buffet, or William Holden by the old fountain in the garden.

Built on the site of the famous Repulse Bay Hotel (1920 – 1982), The Repulse Bay residential community is an oasis of tranquility and nostalgia on Hong Kong Island’s south coast.  It consists of two imposing sea view apartment buildings with extensive residential facilities, and a style of life for families, couples and singles.

列印

分區簡史

薄扶林、華富及華貴

多年來,薄扶林、華富及華貴區一帶主要為住宅區。但隨著近年數碼港的發展,區內漸漸形成一個重要商業區域,並為市民提供另一消閒好去處。

薄扶林古稱「薄鳧(音扶)林」。薄鳧是一種雀鳥,由於這一帶的叢林有大量薄鳧棲息,遂以此得名。可能由於鳧字與扶字發音相同,故漸漸演變為薄扶林。薄扶林本來只是一個村落的名字(位於現今置富花園附近),後來才成為一個分區的名稱。該村現時仍保存一些傳統風俗,如拜祭李靈仙姐和神福牌、在中秋節舞火龍等。據一些老居民所說,香港市花洋紫荊,最早便是在薄扶林發現的。1886年,牛奶公司創立,在薄扶林建了一個牧場飼養乳牛,後來漸漸發展為一間多元化的大企業,使薄扶林一帶具有較濃厚的商住兩用色彩;加上天主教會很早便在這裡發展宗教事業,故區內華洋共處,新舊並存。

現今的華富邨昔日稱為雞籠灣。據說該處有許多迂迴曲折的山間小路,遠望就如雞籠上竹片交錯相疊的圖案,因而得名。 1963年,當時的香港屋宇建設委員會(即香港房屋委員會的前身)宣布計劃興建10個公共廉租屋邨,華富邨便是其中之一。華富邨是香港首個以市鎮形式建成的屋邨,內有商場、街市、停車場、學校及公共圖書館等設施,以當時的房屋規劃而言,十分創新。


香港仔

香港仔、石排灣、田灣及置富區東至惠福道、深灣道,南至香港仔海旁,西至置富花園,北至香港仔郊野公園一帶,是南區的經濟中樞,不少南區市民均在此購物和消費。此外,區內更有不少古蹟名勝及郊遊好去處,可謂動靜皆宜。

據說香港仔原名香港,自明朝嘉靖年間,這個小港灣便以轉運東莞運來的香木馳名,並以此得名。當時莞香先由陸路運抵尖沙咀(古稱香埗頭),然後用小船轉運至香港仔,改以體積較大的槽船運往廣州,再轉赴江蘇、浙江一帶。至於香港仔的英文名稱Aberdeen,可能與英國一位外相有關。昔日英國取得新殖民地時,盛行以聲名顯赫的政界要人名字為之命名。據說當英國取得香港時,便選用英國外相鴨巴甸勳爵的名字作為香港仔的英文名稱。

香港仔位於南區西部,面對鴨脷洲島,港灣寬闊,是一個天然良港,而且有海島作屏障,最適宜漁船停泊。故幾百年來都是港島一個重要漁港,也是港島最古老的村落之一。開埠以後,香港仔漸發展成為一個重要的造船業中心。現時香港仔中心一帶的前身,便是黃埔船廠用作修理洋船的船塢。由於飲食和旅遊業的發展,香港仔有大量海鮮酒家出現,對海鮮的需求也大大增加。1960年後,由於多個屋邨相繼落成,香港仔人口激增,條件大為改善。加上附近一帶的工業用地遠較市區便宜,廠家紛紛前來設廠,令工廠數目和類型不斷增加,也為南區居民提供了不少就業機會。所以很多水上居民都遷到陸上居住,並從事較穩定的工作,使香港仔的漁民人數不斷下降。
鴨脷洲

據說由於島的東面在水退時有許多岩石露出海面,形狀仿如鴨舌一般,加上廣東人將舌叫作「脷」,因此得名「鴨脷洲」。另一說法是,該島的外形狹而長,頗像一條鴨舌,故此得名。

鴨脷洲初期只是一個人煙稀少的荒島,及後一些漁民在島的北岸聚居,逐漸出現一些漁家小屋、造船工廠、曬魚和曬網棚架等。二次大戰結束後,人口也日漸增加。一向以來,鴨脷洲治安良好,民風純樸,爭執也不常見。當時島上最繁盛的是鴨脷洲大街,滿是商舖茶樓;店舖大多售賣漁具和祭祀物品。此外,還有一百多個「大牌檔」。

昔日,鴨脷洲居民的凝聚力很強,有很強烈的歸屬感,居民之間守望相助,相處十分融洽。很多居民都熱心為街坊服務,出錢出力,毫不計較。以島上的「同慶公社」和「街坊會」為例,其幹事都是義務性質,甚至要捐助日常經費。但很多人都很樂意擔任這樣的職位,盡心竭力為街坊謀福利、籌辦各項神誕慶典、辦學、改善居住環境等。
黃竹坑

黃竹坑的「坑」字可能與山溪、河澗有關。事實上,在南風道之西北方,即著名黃竹坑石刻的所在地,便是一個乾涸了的河床。明朝時,香品出口是香港的重要貿易,當時的莞香會運往現今石排灣一帶的集散地,所以該處亦名為「香港村」,並逐漸發展成為後來的「香港舊圍」。舊圍附近有一個古名為「鐵坑」的地方,那裡有一條「香港新圍」村。當時不少小童都會到附近的一條稱為「大水坑」的澗瀑洗澡和嬉水,渠務署後來將澗瀑改成水道。由於水道旁長滿金黃色的竹枝,所以那裡又稱黃竹坑。

黃竹坑一帶土地不算肥沃,屬黃泥地,故此不少土地荒廢,人口不多。主要村落只有黃竹坑新圍及舊圍,本屬周姓村落。本港已故名流周壽臣爵士便出身於該村。隨著戰後人口增加、工商業發展,兩村開始有不少外姓人士居住,而黃竹坑的土地大多改作工業用途。由於地勢比較平坦廣闊,因此不單吸引海洋公園在此興建,這裡亦有不少運動場地。現時,政府有意將香港仔及其周邊地區發展成一個旅遊區;黃竹坑將轉型成為一個集旅遊、酒店、購物及消閒於一身的地區。

赤柱及石澳

赤柱得名的由來有幾個說法:

  • 據說以往赤柱到處長滿了木棉樹(也可能是火焰樹),每當夏季開花之時,參天樹幹上綴滿鮮豔火紅的花朵,仿如無數赤紅的巨柱,因而得名。
  • 據民間傳說,清朝初年,赤柱長有一株巨大無匹的木棉樹,可惜受颱風吹襲,令樹皮脫落,樹枝及樹葉一掃而盡,但樹幹卻仍然屹立不倒,遠望仿如一條赤紅色的大木柱,故此得名。
  • 有一說法是因為這裏是一個半島,仿如一條舂米的舂柱,而其近海的山崖陡峭,山石外露,且多呈褐紅色,所以被稱為赤柱。
  • 另一說法也與赤柱瀕海的山崖有關。每當日出東方,晨曦初現的時候,和煦的陽光漫染群山,使高聳的山崖仿如巨大的赤色石柱,因而得名。


赤柱英文名稱Stanley;相傳是為了紀念英國海軍將領Stanley率兵在此登陸,戰勝盤踞附近一帶的著名海盜張保仔的一段事蹟。赤柱一帶在遠古時期已有人聚居,明朝年間逐漸興旺起來,並發展為漁民聚居的小漁港。赤柱早期是一個頗重要的鄉鎮,赤柱半島上的赤柱村,過去又稱「赤市」,可見往昔曾作墟市,有一定的商業活動。現時,赤柱已發展成一個著名的旅遊勝地。

石澳有南北兩個海灘,北面的海灘滿布石頭,相信石澳以此石灘而得名。倘活動于其間,易生危險,相反南部的海灘非常適合進行水上活動。石澳是香港島面向太平洋的前哨,也是港島最東面的地方。雖然瀕臨海濱,但由於風急浪高,欠缺屏障,所以漁業並不發達,漁民數量不多。石澳海灘水清沙幼,1940年代後期日漸發展為聞名的海浴場,成為泳客夏天的好去處。當時很多漁民都會經營副業,以服務遊客為生,例如出租帳棚丶販賣游泳用品和食物等。

  stanley_pic1

  stanley_pci2
Repulse_Bay_Hotel_in_1920  

The_famous_Repulse_Bay_Hotel_in_1920s
淺水灣

淺水灣酒店於1920年元旦日開幕,並由當時的香港港督司徒拔爵士K.C.M.G. 主持揭幕儀式。

回顧淺水灣酒店的六十二年歷史,她不僅是一個讓市民開車去海灘享受週末的好去處,也是當時許多在遠東工作的外籍人士和國際旅客喜歡的地方。在三十年代曾經下榻淺水灣酒店的名人包括著名劇作家喬治蕭伯納和諾埃爾科沃德在,而美國著名影星馬龍白蘭度亦曾在五十年代到訪淺水灣酒店。此外,西班牙王子胡安卡洛斯一世和公主索菲亞在淺水灣酒店渡過他們的蜜月; 丹麥王子阿克塞爾和希臘王子彼得也曾入住酒店。

其他著名影星均嚮往淺水灣酒店的寧靜環境。荷里活電影《生死戀》曾在酒店取景。而閱讀室亦被用作奧斯卡獲獎影片《榮歸》的拍攝場景。當時的遊人或許會在享用週日自助餐時遇到彼得塞勒斯,或在庭院的噴水池旁邊遇上威廉荷頓。

今日淺水灣影灣園座落於著名的淺水灣酒店(1920至1982年)原址,是港島南區寧靜的住宅區,加上完善的設施,設合不同家庭生活要求。香港仔、石排灣、田灣及置富區東至惠福道、深灣道,南至香港仔海旁,西至置富花園,北至香港仔郊野公園一帶,是南區的經濟中樞,不少南區市民均在此購物和消費。此外,區內更有不少古蹟名勝及郊遊好去處,可謂動靜皆宜。