Print

Folk Customs of the Fishing Community

Festivals

The Dragon Boat Festival and Lunar New Year are two very important festivals to the fishing community. On these days, fishermen take extra time off to celebrate. Dragon boat races are held for the Dragon Boat Festival. The fishing way of life was dull in the past and these races were annual highlights that took their mind off the hardship at sea. They are also great opportunities to unwind. Fishermen believe dragon boats are soulful. A good race will bring good fortune and good health for the coming year.
Religious Rituals and Ceremonies

Most fishermen have religious faith. Faced with unpredictable weather and catch, they tend to worship traditional deities, hoping that religious rituals and ceremonies would bring blessings. Shrines of many traditional deities can be found on fishing boats. The most important statue is placed on the "Main Altar" and consecrated by a Taoist priest. They belief the main altar is the most spiritual spot, while the bow of the boat is most sacred and must not be trodden on or crossed by pregnant women. When there is a funeral on a boat, neighbouring boats would cover their bows with gunny sacks or wicker baskets, and then sail away to avoid inauspiciousness or bad luck. In the old days, fishing boats always lit fire crackers before setting sail. It was a gesture to wish for good fortune. In recent years, this custom has been substituted by a worshipping ritual at the bow and incense offerings.

Tin Hau, Hung Shing and Kwum Yum are most respected by fishermen. To them, these three deities have the highest power over the sea. On the birthdays of Tin Hau, Hung Shing and Kwum Yum, fishermen gather at the temples with giant incenses. After paying homage, one of the burning incenses is put out with water and brought back to the boat. When there is danger at sea, the incense would be lit to beg the deities for salvation.
A Changing Way of Life

In the past, fishermen were reluctant to receive medical treatment in hospitals. A doctor would be asked to make "house call" on the boat. They very rarely leave the fishing boat. It is a place to live and die, and even funerals are held onboard. Fishermen are very filial to their elders and attach great importance to ancestral worship. For this reason, they prefer to lay the deceased to rest by burial. There is a designated burial ground near every fishing anchorage. For example, departed fishermen from Aberdeen are usually buried on Lamma Island and Luk Chau.

Most fishermen in Hong Kong are Cantonese who speak the Canton dialect. It is a common misconception that fishermen speak the Tanka dialect. The truth is there is no such thing as Tanka dialect. The difference between their speech and that of people on land is resulted by a lack of contact. The situation has improved after the war. As fishermen and land people had more chances to communicate, mutual understand and acceptance have developed. The prime reason is probably that the majority of fishermen have settled ashore, and this contact has eliminated past estrangement and conflicts. Moreover, many fishermen's children are now going to school ashore. This also helps them integrate into the society.

Fishermen of Aberdeen lived at sea in the past. They had vast waters to fish and catches were abundant. If not for the lack of advanced equipment and the poor consuming power Hong Kong's small fisheries market back then, they would have done much better than just making ends meet. Those were tough days for the fishing community. There was no way to improve life and children were deprived of education. Fishermen are simple, honest people working hard for a living. They are contented with what they have. In the difficult years before public housing appeared, it had never crossed their minds to settle ashore.

Later, industrial and commercial development in Hong Kong led to the decline of the traditional fishing industry. As factories sprouted up in Aberdeen, some members of the fishing community were attracted and changed profession. Meanwhile, fishing became automated with the introduction of mechanical tools. This greatly improved the economic situation of Aberdeen fishermen. The development of public housing estates also encouraged many fishermen to move ashore to seek alternative livelihoods. Some of them accepted relocation by the government. Others bought their own properties and lived on the boat during the fishing season then on land for the rest of the year. They became a unique kind of "amphibian" residents.

Today, Aberdeen is the only fishing anchorage left in the Southern District. Having said that, Aberdeen's fishing industry still plays a key role in Hong Kong.

There are many fishermen's groups in the Southern District which dedicate themselves to promoting amicability and cooperation amongst fishermen. Thanks to their efforts, fishermen are enjoying much closer relations as well as greater teamwork and solidarity.

打印

渔民的风俗习惯

节日

端午节和农历新年是渔民最重视的两个节日,所以休息和庆祝时间也较长。他们在端午节会举办赛龙舟。昔日渔民的生活较单调,扒龙舟可说是他们一年辛勤工作里的一项点缀,也是轻松一下的好机会。他们深信龙舟具有灵性,扒过龙舟会全年顺景,身体健康。
祭祀供奉

渔民大多信奉神灵,因为海上的天气难以预测,渔获也没有保证,所以渔民对各种各样的神灵都十分敬畏,希望藉着祭祀和供奉得到庇佑。他们在船上供奉很多神像,将最重要的一尊放在船的「神口位」,并聘请道士主持开光仪式。他们相信神口最具灵性,而船头则是最神圣的地方,不能践踏,怀孕妇女更不能跨越。假若邻近的船户有丧事,其他船户便用麻包袋或竹箩包着船头,然后把船驶远,避免沾上不吉和霉运。往昔渔民出海时会燃烧炮竹,祈求大吉大利,近年则以拜船头及拜神代替。

渔民最重视天后丶洪圣和观音,认为是最具法力的海神。他们在贺诞时,都会带备几枝大香到庙里参神,然后将其中一枝燃点着的大香用水淋熄,把它带回船上。倘若出海时遇到危难,便会燃点该枝大香,深信如此可邀得神祇显灵相救。
生活变化

昔日,渔民大多不愿意进医院,生病也只会请医生上船诊视。他们不会轻易离开船只,即使死也要留在船上,丧礼也在船上举行。渔民很重孝道,也重视对祖先的拜祭,故盛行土葬。通常每个渔港的渔民都有一些特定地方供土葬之用,如香港仔的渔民身故后大多葬於南丫岛和鹿洲。

香港的渔民大都是广东人,所操的是广东话,很多人误以为他们说的是「蜑家话」。事实上,并没有「蜑家话」这种方言,只是以往他们很少和陆上居民接触,彼此的语音有明显的不同,所以才有此误解。但战后情况已经改变。渔民和陆上居民接触的机会增加,彼此增进了解,且能互相接纳。最主要的原因,相信是渔民大多已到陆上定居,与陆上居民的隔膜和歧异日渐消失。此外,近年大多数渔民子弟都入学读书,对他们融入社会大有帮助。

往昔香港仔的渔民绝大部分在海上生活。区域广阔,鱼获也十分丰富。只是渔船设备落后,且港人消费能力不高,市场有限,故渔民的收入仅足温饱,根本无从改善生活条件,甚至子女的教育机会也被牺牲。渔民性格淳朴、诚实、刻苦耐劳、安份守己,对物质要求不高,故此在香港当时经济落后、公共房屋仍未发展的时期,渔民不会存有移居陆上的想法。

但随着香港经济迈向工业化和商业化,传统渔业日渐萎缩。香港仔出现了不少工厂,吸引了部分渔民转业。此外,渔业的发展引进机械,令香港仔渔民的经济条件大为改善,加上公共房屋的建设,吸引了不少渔民迁居陆上转业谋生。他们部分人接受政府的徙置,部分人则自行购置物业,过水陆分季居住的生活,成为「两栖居民」。

时至今日,南区的渔港只剩香港仔。虽然如此,香港仔的渔业在本港仍占有极重要的地位。

现时,南区有不少渔业团体致力增进渔民的感情和合作。因此,渔民的关系远较从前紧密,发挥团结互助,体现群策群力的精神。