Print
Eileen Chang (a.k.a. Zhang Ailing)
Biography:
Birth name - Zhāng Yīng張煐.
A famous contemporary female writer.

Born in 1920, Shanghai.
Died in 1995, Los Angeles, California, U.S.

In 1939, Eileen Chang was awarded a scholarship to enter the University of London.  But the spread of war had changed her course to study in the University of Hong Kong, where she majored in English Literature.  However, she was unable to graduate with a formal degree as Hong Kong was invaded by Japanese troops afterwards.

In 1942, Chang left Hong Kong for Shanghai and published her acclaimed work afterwards, namely Love in a Fallen City, a famous novel featuring Repulse Bay Hotel as the story background.  Chang created the love story of her hero and heroine (Bai Liusu and Fan Liuyuan) based on the blueprint of her mother’s two friends in Hong Kong.  The hotel was demolished long ago, but the elegant and nostalgic verandah was restored in the restaurant named “The Verandah” at the original site, which successfully captures the atmosphere of a well-known scene in the novel.  After the war, Chang returned to Hong Kong twice where she worked as a translator and screenwriter.

In 1955, Chang left for the United States.  In 1995, she passed away in her Los Angeles residence at the age of 74.
R4
Footsteps in the Southern District:
In her masterpiece Love in a Fallen City, Eileen Chang staged the romance of her hero and heroine Bai Liusu and Fan Liuyuan at Repulse Bay Hotel where they first met each other.  Chang’s sensitivity with colours and light was fully reflected in her work with succinct expression - “The pale white seawater rolled over the yellowish sand.  The winter sky was also tinged with bluish white” had sophisticatedly described the awesome beauty of Repulse Bay.  The hotel was demolished long ago, but the elegant and nostalgic verandah was restored in the restaurant “The Verandah” at the original site which successfully captures the atmosphere of a well-known scene in the novel.  The movie Lust, Caution, adapted from Chang’s novella of the same name, was also filmed in this restaurant.
route_map_4

 



Landmark
Literary Landmark:
Eileen Chang’s Hong Kong Journeys
ec_all
Location:
Repulse Bay Gardens (At the locations of the existing 3 benches on the walkway connecting Repulse Bay Road and Beach Road)
Completion Date:
June 2015
Designer:
KONG Ming, Adam (School of Design of the Hong Kong Polytechnic University)
Design Concept:
Eileen CHANG’s had made three trips to Hong Kong in her lifetime.  During the first journey, her plan to study at the University of London was disrupted by the War against invasion; as such, she pursued study in the Faculty of Arts at the University of Hong Kong.  During her stay in Hong Kong, she often visited her mother who lived in the Repulse Bay Hotel temporarily.  Subsequently, she returned to Shanghai and worked on her most acclaimed work, Love in a Fallen City, based on the blueprint of the story of her mother’s friends.  After the war, CHANG came to Hong Kong twice: First, in the period 1952-1955 which was the prime of her literary creation, a number of her literary pieces and film scripts were accomplished; then she emigrated to the United States in 1955, and afterwards she returned to Hong Kong for the last time to take care of her bed-ridden husband in 1961-1962.

The designer uses three sets of chairs to highlight the life journey of Eileen Chang in Hong Kong for the three periods: (1) in 1939-1942: the bullets on the ground and the photos taken with her friends on the tea table represent the wartime and her pursuit of study as a youth; (2) in 1952-1955: piles of books and pens on the chairs represent the prime of her literary creation; and (3) in 1961-1962: the luggage beside the chair and the jacket on the armrest represent her brief journey and bidding farewell to Hong Kong.

Means of Transport:
Bus (NWFB/CityBus):
6,6A,6X,63,65,66,73,260,973
trailmap_ec

打印
张爱玲
生平:
本名张煐。中国当代女作家。

生于1920年,上海。
卒于1995年,美国加州洛杉矶。

1939年,张爱玲原已考获奖学金入读伦敦大学,但因战事蔓延而改往香港大学文学院进修,主修英国文学,但最后亦因香港沦陷而未能正式毕业。

1942年,张爱玲离港返沪,其后出版了其成名作《倾城之恋》,故事以浅水湾酒店为背景。她以母亲居港时的两名友人作为蓝本,创作了白流苏和范柳原的爱情故事。尽管酒店现已改建,但于原址仿建的露台餐厅,仍保留了这著名场景的风貌,洋溢古雅的怀旧气息。战后张爱玲曾两度居港,从事文学翻译及编写电影剧本的工作。

1955年,张爱玲移居美国。1995年在洛杉矶寓所中逝世,享年74岁。
R4
在南区的足迹:
在张爱玲笔下,白流苏与范柳原在浅水湾酒店邂逅,徐徐展开了经典名著《倾城之恋》的故事。张爱玲的笔触对颜色和光线特别敏锐:「淡白的海水汨汨吞吐淡黄的沙。冬季的晴天也是淡漠的蓝色。」寥寥词组,浅水湾的怡人景色就跃然纸上。尽管酒店现已被改建,但于原址仿建的露台餐厅,仍保留了这著名场景的风貌,洋溢古雅的怀旧气息。由张爱玲短篇《色‧戒》改编而成的同名电影,也在这里取景。
route_map_4

 



地标
地标名称:
张爱玲香港之旅
ec_all
地标位置:
浅水湾花园(接连浅水湾道及海滩道的通道,现有三张长椅的位置)
落成日期:
2015年6月
设计者:
孔明 (香港理工大学设计学院)
设计理念:
张爱玲曾三度来港,第一次是因战乱而无法按计划升读伦敦大学,结果改为来港就读香港大学文学院。在港期间,她常往浅水湾酒店探望在此小住的母亲。其后她回到上海,并以母亲友人的故事为蓝本写成她的经典名著《倾城之恋》。战后,张爱玲曾两度来港,第一次是1952至1955年,亦是她文学创作的全盛时期,完成了多篇文学作品和电影剧本;她于1955年移居美国,再于1961至1962年间回到香港照顾患病的丈夫,这是她最后一次来港。


设计者以三组座椅表达张爱玲三度来港的经历:(一)1939至1942年,地上的子弹及茶几上与友人的旧照片,代表战乱的时代背景和她的年青求学时期;(二)1952至1955年,椅上的大量书籍和笔,代表她的创作全盛期;以及(三)1961至1962年,椅边的行李和扶手上的外套,代表短暂的旅程和告别香港。

交通:
途经巴士线(新巴/城巴):
6,6A,6X,63,65,66,73,260,973
trailmap_ec