Print

BNP Paribas Museum of Bethanie

Address: 139 Pokfulam Road (next to Chinese Cuisine Training Institute)
Website :
http://www.amo.gov.hk/en/monuments_103.php
First time visitors to Bethanie would find it hard to believe that they are actually in Hong Kong, but this sanatorium can be found in Pokfulam of the Southern District on Hong Kong Island.

Bethanie House was built by Missions Etrangeres de Paris (French Mission) in 1875 when missionaries carried out religious work across Asia. They used Bethanie as a temporary home or sanatorium. In the 1940's, foreign missionaries were deported from China during the turmoil and revolution, and Missions Etrangeres de Paris' significant role in Hong Kong was also diminishing. The property fell into the hands of Hong Kong Land, Hong Kong University Press and then the Hong Kong Government. In 2003, the right of use was eventually granted to the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts and Bethanie was reborn as a new campus of the Academy's School of Film and Television.

During the two-year restoration project, while refurbishing the existing buildings and adding teaching facilities, the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts faced major challenge in recovering missing relics and features which were removed after Bethanie was sold to the previous owners in 1974. These valuable features include 19 stained glass windows, statues of the Twelve Apostles, altar and reredos. The search for these relics to restore Bethanie to its original glory brought HKAPA across the territory and even overseas. Time and again, clues led them to various missions in Hong Kong and government warehouses, and French historian Professor Alain Le Pichon was commissioned to search the French Mission Archives in Paris.

Thanks to concerted effort, Bethanie was successfully restored and open to the public in 2006. When you admire the beautiful relics before you, take a moment to reminisce the stories behind them. Imagine how they were once lost in foreign places or forgotten, and then brought back to their home.

Barrierfree Travel Index:

Wide access, steps and ramps are available.

打印

伯大尼

地址:香港薄扶林道139号(毗邻中华厨艺学院)
初次见到伯大尼,大部分人不敢相信它位处于香港境内。其实这座修院正是位于港岛南区的薄扶林。

由1875年巴黎外方传教会所兴建,当年传教会士在亚洲各地传教,他们在伯大尼暂住或疗养。四十年代,中国内地掀起连串革命,外国传教士被驱逐出境,巴黎外方传教会在香港的角色亦今非昔比。后来修院的业权辗转落入置地集团丶香港大学出版社丶政府等,最后,香港演艺学院于2003年获得修院的使用权,把伯大尼列作辖下电影电视学院的校舍。
两年多的修复工程中,除了翻新建筑物及加建教学设施外,另一项艰巨的任务是寻回于1974年修院出售时被撤走的珍贵文物,包括小教堂内的19扇彩画玻璃窗丶圣像丶祭台丶祭台屏风。为了重现伯大尼的原貌,香港演艺学院四出打探这些文物的下落,根据线索多次到访香港各修会及政府仓库,并委任法国历史学家乐艾伦教授亲到巴黎外方传教会的总会的档案库搜集资料。

幸而,伯大尼修院经过多方的努力已修复完成,并由2006年开放予公众参观。如今,欣赏眼前的每件文物的时候,不妨细阅背后一个个失而复得的故事:它们曾经流落异地,或被世人所遗忘,最后重返伯大尼。

旅游无障碍指标:

设有宽阔通道丶梯级及斜坡供游客使用。