Print

Hong Kong Correctional Services Museum

Address: 45 Tung Tau Wan Road, Stanley
Tel: 2147 3199
Opening Hours:
10:00am - 5:00pm Tuesday to Sunday
Closed on Monday and public holidays
Website:
http://www.csd.gov.hk/emuseum/index.html#ad-image-0
Admission: Free
Over the years, films and TV drama set in prisons have never lost their appeal. Evidently people have great imaginations about life behind bars. Do gang fighting, breakouts and savage torture really happen in prisons? The Hong Kong Correctional Services Museum has all the answers.

Stepping into the museum, visitors see not movie pictures or props, but real photos of corporate punishment and jail diaries. Although more than a hundred years old, they still send shivers up your spine. Nine exhibition galleries in the museum present more than 600 exhibits, including the correction services system, forms of punishment, threats inside the prison and uniforms of correctional services officers. This collection is a record of the history and evolution of Hong Kong's correctional services from Victorian times to this day.

Be prepared for interesting discoveries, for the Hong Kong Correctional Services Museum is anything but a dull narration of prison life. There are bilingual interpretation for the exhibits, online casino plus a 30-minute video that unveils the world behind bars. The simulated gallows on the 2nd floor is enhanced by sound effect to deliver a graphic portrayal of execution. Amongst the many galleries, exhibits about contraband goods and Vietnamese boat people are most interesting. In addition to ordinary contraband goods like drug supplies and weapons, there are also DIY varieties like fans, wine-making tools and musical instruments.

Before leaving the Hong Kong Correctional Services Museum, don't forget to visit the lookout outside the auxiliary gallery. The terrace offers the dreamy seascape of Tai Tam Bay, and a lovely breath of freedom.

Barrierfree Travel Index:

The museum is equipped with an artificial ramp for wheelchair users and wide access. There are also toilets for the disabled.

列印

香港懲教博物館

地址:香港赤柱東頭灣道45號
電話:2147 3199
開放時間:
星期二至日:上午10時至下午5時
逢星期一及公眾假期休息
網站:
http://www.csd.gov.hk/emuseum/index_tc.html
入場費:免費
以監獄為題材的電視電影年年熱播,可見人們對鐵窗裡的世界有着無限想像。究竟裡面是否有幫派打鬥?逃獄?或是酷刑呢?就讓香港懲教博物館為大家一一解答。

進入博物館,看到的不再是電影劇照和道具,而是真正的死囚行刑相片和監獄日誌,即使是百多年前的黑白照,感覺依然震撼。這裡九間展覽室一共展出600多件文物,當中包括懲教制度、刑罰、監獄內的威脅、懲教人員的制服等,記載香港懲教服務從維多利亞時代至今的歷史和演變過程。

參觀之前,千萬不要把懲教博物館和枯燥乏味的監獄生活劃上等號。這裡的展品附有中、英文簡介,亦有一段30分鐘的短片讓遊客窺探監獄裡的世界。 二樓的模擬絞刑台,配上聲音效果,把行刑的過程描繪得活靈活現。在館內眾多展覽中,違禁品和越南船民的展覽最為有趣。展品除了一般的違禁品如吸毒用具、武器外,還有很多意想不到的「DIY」物品,例如風扇、釀酒工具及樂器。

參觀過懲教博物館,臨行前務必到副展館外的觀景平台一看,對着大潭灣的海光山色呼吸一口自由的空氣吧。

旅遊無障礙指標:

懲教博物館設有專為輪椅使用者而建的人工斜坡,通道寬闊,而且設有傷殘人士洗手間。